top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Dog Fight

You train me to be aggressive and ruthlessly attack

My nature is to please you

Your cold, hardened ways, on my brain they always rack

My instinct is to obey and follow very few


Once ready, training complete I am led to a pit

Sitting staring across the sand at another tortured soul

With the savagery I now possess, this destiny is a perfect fit

Everytime I enter that pit, it leaves its mark, takes its toll


Every saturday I am forced to fight over and over again

In another world, the ones I fight could have been brothers, sisters, friends

You don't care, you watch to see if I win and kill or lose and get slain

Nothing you say or do can filter the message me being here sends


Victory brings no joy, if I lose I die, if I win I get beaten

All I can do is look to the future and hope life will sweeten

Every day I pray I will be set free and have a life truly mine


Forced to fight so often, my wounds never fully heal

I always leave covered with cuts and holes from which blood gushes

Always in such pain that anything else I just can not feel

Now so stiff that I can't react fast enough when my opponent rushes


You boast to all about my every victory

While perfect to you, for me each victory is a burden so heavy

You see my wins as your very own glory

Every soul faced and life taken left a non payable levy


A life of violence, pain and barbaric cries

Because of you, this is the only life I have ever known

When you look at me, that fiery hate in your eyes

Forever reflected by the sadness in my own.


©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Failure

Failure is said to be the greatest teacher But the only thing I have is a bitter taste I am left feeling like the lowest creature Fail...

Coprophilia

*NOTE: I am not writing about myself* An enticing aroma filling the air Eyes closed, breathing in deep With a lusting smile, I become the...

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page