top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Lost Innocence

Sitting there a shade of who I used to be

Trying to figure out where it all went wrong

My innocence has gone, been doing it for so long

Eyes upon the course but I can not see

Now just one more word in the cutters song


I opened that door now I am afraid to close it

Reasons to do it, the lies my reflection told

Pretending I am fine, leave things untold

I caress myself with sand papers roughest grit

Will I be able to break this dangerous mental hold?


Being pulled back into the addiction of pain

I know what I am tempting, what is at stake

I can't take anymore, giving into the break

Eyes closed, arms out, bloodied in my lane

I give up as madness on my body starts to rake.


©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Game of Life

Life, a game won by none Born with an expiry date Living to die, what great fun Conquest of life, death begun Death, the final card...

Fragments of Self

You reaching out a trembling hand Haunted eyes begging for help Crying words formed in a whispered yelp An unspoken message to help you...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page