top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Heart On Fire

People always want to get close

But I'm too scared to let them in

When my name is called, I want another dose

To disappear and live with my joyful sin


I'm scared of the happiness they own

When my brightest day is as dark as night

I am burnt by the love they have shown

The fire is lit but I see no light


I hide who I am behind all my rage

Call me a coward, I won't stop you

For most of my life I have kept my heart in a cage

There were always people around but I never knew


I am faceless, one of the unknown

My only friend is pure dark hate

I put everyone I see onto a throne

It seems that is doomed to be my fate


Please burn me with that fire

Because I have never felt any pain

Don't even dare call me a liar

The truth is I am just insane


I have been in the dark for too long

There is no one to save me from my trouble

Just block out my cries with another song

Carry on living your perfect life in your tiny bubble


There is nothing more for me to learn

So I will just stand and study every face

All I can do is just wait for my turn

And control things at my own pace


When I am seen, everyone tries to hide

As if they are scared that I am going to bite

I look at them and they look off to the side

Can't they see I have no desire to fight?


I hate the person I have become

I am tired of people fearing me

I just want love but no one will give me some

To slay the monster and set me free


Everyday I have to force a smile

Have to pretend that I care

My life is just another page in a file

There is nothing left for me anywhere


I live in my very own piece of hell

I wish I could spread my wings and fly away

To escape before I fall under another spell

Before I am seen and forced to stay


It feels like I am blind

I look around and see nothing that makes me happy

Nothing to make my body and soul bind

This just might be the end of me


All I ever wanted was to make you proud

All I ever needed was to feel your love


©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Personal Torture

In my chest there is no heart Nothing to make me love Around me, my family is falling apart I ask for help and am given a glove Is there...

Josh West: the Soundtrack

Not sure how to start this My sound track is told by all who failed In this telling, some crucial point I am sure to miss Will getting...

Humanities Mask

Surrounded by and drowning in humanities crowd Feeling physically sick from their stink Deafened by their babble, spoken so loud Senses...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page