top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Forgotten Paradise

There I was, knife to my throat

Tear streaked face lifted to the sky

The surrounding hate seeming to gloat

As I scream in a strangled voice asking why


Something stayed my hand, lowered the knife

Realisation set in like a full bodied shove

I had forgotten the true meaning of life

The secret is not to die, but live with love


From a clear pair of eyes, the truth, I now see

A need to express feelings is now so strong

I need to show how I have been set free

But what if I mess up and get it all wrong?


I need to rise up and capture a lover's glory

Mentally reliving all the hits and misses

Now writing a letter, a simple love story

Inscribed with only the softest kisses


In the beauty of her eyes, I am happily lost

To me, her smile is the greatest of her charms

I want to hold her to my chest no matter the cost

A forgotten paradise, safe in a lover's arms.

©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ignored You... My Mistake

I ignored you and that was my greatest mistake Nothing I can do can erase that foolish error I made My actions made you question if I am...

If I...

I found you now I won't let go, you complete me You are the right to my left, together we are one United we can face the past, we will...

Hidden Emotions

Sitting on my own, the cold slowly starts to spread But there is one place I can go that is always warm Whenever I go to that place, I am...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page