top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Dear Darkness


Dear darkness, we meet again old friend

The bond we once shared is stronger now

I missed the comforting chaos you send

You told me what to do, showed me how

The shadow of you upon my furrowed brow


But now you are back, you came back to me

Speaking in a whisper, using borrowed voices

Those words say it is time to create my legacy

Do it now or wait a while are my only choices

But are your words real or made up noises?


But if you are not the darkness I once knew

The friend that kept my feet on the ground

So are you still my friend or something new?

And what is that strange slobbering sound?

Can I still trust you or am I a toy newly found?


There is a strange light gleaming in your eye

A tense energy, I can feel it's waves flow

Why did you come back? Tell me why?

Standing there with your sickening glow

Will I be able to withstand your final blow?


©Josh West

Picture credit: Testament album art

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lost Innocence

Sitting there a shade of who I used to be Trying to figure out where it all went wrong My innocence has gone, been doing it for so long...

Game of Life

Life, a game won by none Born with an expiry date Living to die, what great fun Conquest of life, death begun Death, the final card...

Fragments of Self

You reaching out a trembling hand Haunted eyes begging for help Crying words formed in a whispered yelp An unspoken message to help you...

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page