top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Heart Break

Two lovers, words replaced with traded looks

Little did I know that this would never last

I gave my love and got it back hung on meat hooks

I don't know what happened, it went so fast

But it brought up memories from love's failed past


In my chest, my heart no longer beats

The victim of sweetened whispered lies

Hopeless love, written on blank sheets

All seem to carry hate in love's disguise

After every encounter part of me dies


My broken heart now held together by string

It has become so hard to just give trust

Words spoken always seem to hollowly ring

As I sit chewing on love's putrid, sour crust

All alone, feeling heart break's lonely lust


I am on my knees, pleading to know what I did wrong

For someone to tell me how this happened and why

I have searched my soul, clawed my mind for so long

But the answers, the understanding just pass me by

I am begging, please help me see why love will deny


Those four letters are now so devastatingly savage

Love, a word that has slowly torn me apart

A festering wound within that wants only to ravage

Slowly beginning to wish I never loved from the start

Do you know how to heal a broken heart?


©Josh West

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page