top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Betrayal


Sweet words whispered, the smile you fake

Behind my back words spoken, venom drips

The jagged edge of your tongue cuts and rips

From your honeyed words I began to break

The smile you fake hides the fangs of a snake

Your eyes pretend concern, sneer on your lips


You feed off hearing the insecure voice cries

While leaving them to simply fall apart

You are just a reptile with the coldest heart

How does the world look with your cold eyes?


The blade was inserted while my back was turned

Every word you say gives it another twist

The disgust you now show hurts like an iron fist

Am I to be just one more fool that you burned?

The care I gave was thrown away unreturned

How did I not see, what signs had I missed?


You are a hunter of the emotionally weak

A predator of those who are momentarily frail

A seductive stalker, you always hide your trail

You vile misanthropic creature, havok you wreak


Unleashing your true self, forcing me to regress

My self hate is a result of you, me, us

Your backstabbing betrayal has filled me with pus

I see now, I was chosen for being weak and a mess

Using the heart I gave as a ball for stress

You gained control of my soul with no fuss


Your hands like clutching talons reaching

Those in need of confidence and love, your mark

Your greatest wish is to crush their dimming spark

Your victims always listen to the hate you preaching


I wish I was stronger, then I could withstand

I would have seen through the lies you told

But I wasn't strong, I am left in the freezing cold

But I didn't see, I missed the knives in each hand

Each blade found their mark, blood stains the sand

Your betrayal is complete, I always feel your hold.


©Josh West

Picture credit: unknown

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heart Break

Two lovers, words replaced with traded looks Little did I know that this would never last I gave my love and got it back hung on meat hooks I don't know what happened, it went so fast But it brought u

Post: Blog2_Post

©A metalhead's poetry

bottom of page