top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Demon of Torment

There is this being sitting on my shoulder

Whispering words, giving hurtful urges

Its voice growing stronger as I go older

Getting harder to ignore the tempting surges

How long can I hold off its ongoing purges?


Implanted thought fills my head every time

Thoughts so dark that I am truly afraid

Always there, as intruding as an alarm chime

Telling me that dying is the reason I was made

Saying I should just let go, let my memories fade


Constantly clawing at my weakened mentality

Those nagging whispers keep getting louder

Pulling chunks from my once powerful vitality

Dangerous as a lit match to my mental gunpowder

Feeling trapped inside a shrinking foudre


The weight pressing down, too much to take

Knees breaking from the continued strain

There will come a day that I will finally break

In my own history, I will become just a stain

Just one more broken and worthless rice grain


But I have to find a way to take a stand

I must regain the figure of the man I was before

Because now I am like a worn out rubber band

I am at breaking point, I can't take much more

NO! I will beat this, I will pick myself up off the floor


This is my first step to a journey of healing

Exposing my demon of torment, calling him out

I will rise from this deadly game he is dealing

I will face him and conquer him, I have no doubt

I may end up bloodied but hear my victorious shout.


©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Follow the Rabbit

Follow the rabbit, racing along endless plains Taking in all the scents that nature shares Smell all that is unlocked by refreshing rains Breathe deep, inspired by how nature cares Follow the rabbit,

Don't Do It

I know what you have planned What you want to do Fires of fate have been fanned Will it even out all debts dues Always wearing a smiling mask To hide your tear soaked face Is life such an impossible t

Best Friend

My best friend is what no person or animal can claim An activity that stopped my death 20 years ago It kept me alive, withstanding the ending blow And helped me survive my addictions flame Trading the

Post: Blog2_Post

©A metalhead's poetry

bottom of page