top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Instrument of Pleasure

Using my instrument of pleasure

Bringing joy to others around

It is also seen as a great treasure

An inanimate object making sound


Years of practice needed to be a master

At first it was like playing on broken glass

Pushing to be better, play it faster

To reach the next level needed to pass


The slide of steel beneath my flesh

My fingers howled the first time they sliced

Playing through pain, cuts always seem fresh

All for a life now seen by many as overspiced


But I wouldn't change a single thing

Playing sweet sounds, filling others with joy

Playing with passion, making my guitar sing

A tool for my amusement, but never a toy


The comforting weight hanging from its strap

Strings vibrate, taking me to another place

Saving me from falling into life's baited trap

When used right its light is reflected on every face.


©Josh West

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page