top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Metalhead's Poetry

Eye of the Eternal

Down at my body, I gaze

Marks of cruelty upon my skin

The self hate now hidden within

Times of life, dealt with in my own ways

No matter what I do, the hate stays


Scars upon scars, my flesh is lined

Some scars my own hand caused

Others from moments of life unpaused

Looking for a reason, using what I can find

As I pray the world turns blind


Pale scars given by life within musical bars

Upon my flesh, my life choices are marked

Skin that was once cherished and unmarked

Is now a living map work of hard earned scars

Best done at night, blood reflecting the stars


Branded as part of life's sadistic fraternity

Signs from times of mental uncertainty

Imperfections, some rough and some smooth

I accept them now because they somehow soothe

In every single one I see the eye of eternity.


©Josh West

07/06/2021

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page